2018-19 Plenary Speakers

Former Vic One Plenaries 

Plenary page - Featured Speaker Banner


Tanya Talaga 2018-2019
Tanya Talaga 
Guest Speaker for the Pelham Edgar Visiting Lecturer in the Humanities Plenary

Plenary page - Upcoming Speakers Banner


Vic One Logo

Wednesday September 5, 2018
Vic One Professors and Mentors
Welcome Session & Breakout Sessions
9:30-11am, ROOM NF003



Vic One Logo

Wednesday September 12, 2018
First Week of Classes - NO PLENARY
4pm, Bader Theatre



Justin Ling 2018

 

Wednesday September 19, 2018
Justin Ling
"Who Broke Democracy?"
Journalist
4pm, Bader Theatre



Alan Taylor 2018-19

 

Wednesday September, 26, 2018
Alan Taylor
Director/Screenwriter/Producer
4pm, Bader Theatre



Michael Winter - 2018

Wednesday October 3, 2018
Michael Winter
"How to Turn Facts into Fiction: Making Good Stories from True Things" 
Writer
4pm, Bader Theatre 



    Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday October 10, 2018
Charter Day Convocation - NO PLENARY



Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday October 17, 2018
Midterms - NO PLENARY





        Carol Off 2018

 

Wednesday October 24, 2018
Judy LaMarsh Lecture for Women in Leadership
Guest Speaker: Carol Off
"The #MeToo Movement: Thirty years late - But not a moment too soon"
Journalist/Commentator/Author
4pm, Bader Theatre


Oct 31 Plenary 2018-2019

 

Wednesday October 31, 2018
Professor Ira Wells
"200 Years of Frankenstein: What Mary Shelley's Classic Reveals About Who We Are" 
4pm, Bader Theatre




 Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday November 7, 2018
Reading Week - NO PLENARY





 

Wednesday November 14, 2018
David Wright and The Hon. Bob Rae
"The US Midterm Elections"
Professors
4pm, Bader Theatre




Yu-Ling Cheng 2018

 

Wednesday November 21, 2018
Yu-Ling Cheng
"The Global Sanitation Challenge and Re-inventing the Toilet: From Lab to Implementation" 
Global Engineer Professor
4pm, Bader Theatre 




Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday January 2, 2019
Holiday Break - NO PLENARY




Ronald J. Deibert 2018-19

 

Wednesday January 9, 2019
Ronald Deibert 
"Targeted Digital Espionage Against Civil Society: Tracking a Growing Epidemic"
Political Science Professor
4pm, Bader Theatre




Vic One Logo

Wednesday January 16, 2019
The Keith Davey Forum on Public Affairs: “Liberal Democracy in the Digital Age”

The panel consists of Tamara Small, associate professor at the University of Guelph, who works on contemporary politics and social media, U of T's Yoonkyung Lee, associate professor, whose research centres on democracy and political movements in South Korea, Mitzie Hunter, liberal MPP in the Scarborough-Guildwood riding and Kristyn Wong-Tam, city councillor for Ward 13 (Toronto Centre). The panel will be moderated by Ambassador David Wright, the Kenneth and Patricia Taylor Distinguished Professor of Foreign Affairs in the Vic One program at Victoria College. 

4pm, Bader Theatre



v1logo

 

Wednesday January 23, 2019
Professor Anne Urbancic
4pm, Bader Theatre


Dr. Gordon Rubenfield 2018-2019

 

Wednesday January 30, 2019
Dr. Gordon Rubenfeld 
Senior Scientist
4pm, Bader Theatre


Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday February 13, 2019
Program Advising Session 
4pm, Bader Theatre



Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday February 20, 2019
Reading Week - NO PLENARY



Vic One Logo

 

Wednesday February 27, 2019
Midterms - NO PLENARY




Bob Phillips- September 27

 

Wednesday March 6, 2019
Bob Phillips
"Reconciliation"
4pm, Bader Theatre




End of the Year Dinner 2017

 

Wednesday March 13, 2019
Vic One Year-End Dinner!




Tanya Talaga 2018-2019

 

Wednesday March 20, 2019
Tanya Talaga
Pelham Edgar visiting Lecturer in the Humanities 
Reporter/Author
4pm, Bader Theatre







Future Students