Your browser is no longer supported

To get the best experience, we suggest using a newer version of Internet Explorer/Edge, or using another supported browser such as Google Chrome.


Victoria University in the University of Toronto was founded as the Upper Canada Academy in Cobourg, Ontario. In 1836, Egerton Ryerson received a Royal Charter for the institution from King William IV. The school officially opened on October 12, 1836, with Ryerson as the first president and Matthew Richey as principal. Victoria College officially became Victoria University in 1884 when it federated with Albert College in Bellville, Ontario. While there have been many changes since, this name has remained.

Charter Day Ceremonies

Each October, we mark the founding of the University. We celebrate the incredible achievements of Vic students. We also thank parents, family, peers and mentors who’ve played a key role in the learning journey, helping students succeed. Charter Day also provides an opportunity to thank Victoria’s alumni and friends for establishing named awards through their giving.

While we usually gather as a community on campus to mark Charter Day, given the restrictions on in-person social gatherings, the University is commemorating the event online from October 5 to October 10. 

 Charter Day Virtual Celebration 2020

Chancellor Council Charter Day Lunch

Thank you to President William Robins, Principal Angela Esterhammer, Registrar Yvette Ali, Executive Director Louise Yearwood and Chancellor Nick Saul for their conversation and remarks.

Thank you to Victoria staff team whose hard work behind-the scenes made Vic's virtual celebration possible: Daniel Blackwell, Wayland Gill, Helena Herscovici, Meghan Kilty, Elicia La Valle, Jennifer Little, Angela Prediger and Jillian Yee.