Your browser is no longer supported

To get the best experience, we suggest using a newer version of Internet Explorer/Edge, or using another supported browser such as Google Chrome.


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the VWA cancelled its March, April and November meetings in 2020, as well as the meetings scheduled for January and February of 2021. The March and April 2021 meetings remain on hold until further notice. 

The November 2020 meeting would have been a joint meeting with Vic Friends of the Library with Vic President Emeritus, Prof. Paul Gooch. The VWA is happy to report that Prof. Gooch will be available for our joint meeting on Wednesday, November 24, 2021. Other speakers have been willing to be rescheduled whenever possible.

We shall be sending our annual newsletter to members and donors in the fall. 

What We Do

Throughout the academic year, the VWA hosts five afternoon programmes, presented primarily by Vic faculty and staff.  Recent events include “Slowing Down Time: Lessons from Antiquity” with Prof. Judith Newman, “The Women in Tom Thomson's Life,” (illustrated), with Angie Littlefield, author of Tom Thomson's Fine Kettle of Friends, and “Vic Now” with Kelley Castle, dean of students, Alexa Ballis, president of VUSAC and Ira Wells, Vic One. 

Meetings end with refreshments and an opportunity to chat with the speaker and other members. The year concludes in April with a luncheon and speaker followed by the AGM.

Since its inception in the 1890s, the association has helped students in need and formed its first bursary fund in 1909. Today, the VWA Bursary assists students in need, and the Margaret Addison Scholarship is awarded biannually to a Vic woman for graduate study outside of Canada.

Join Us

VWA annual membership is $20, but due to the uncertainty of our 2020/21 programme we are asking you to add the $20 fee to your Bursary Fund donation. You may donate online, or send a cheque payable to the VWA Bursary Fund to the mailing address below. You will receive a tax receipt for the full amount. Thank you!

Please contact the VWA at: 

c/o The Victoria Alumni Office
150 Charles St. W.
Toronto ON M5S 1K9

Executive 2020/21

Honourary President: Eva Kushner
President: Diane Dyer
Recording Secretaries: Diane Dyer, Kathy Vance
Corresponding Secretary: Sonia Chater
Treasurer: Ann Lewis
Bursary Treasurer: Cynthia Elson
Membership Convenor: Ann Lewis
Assistant Membership Convenor: Betty Wu
Social Convenor: Alison Noble
Assistant Social Convenor: Vera Held
Rep. to the Toronto and Area Council of Women: Diane Dyer
Representatives: Tanya Basso, Ann Black, Linda MacRae, Maureen Maguire, Anne Urbancic
Dean of Students (ex officio): Kelley Castle